Upcoming Events

Galway | Arts and Media

no events match your query!

New Events

Galway

no events posted in last week

Blog Feeds

Anti-Empire

Anti-Empire

offsite link Slovakia With a “Voluntary” Mass Tes... Thu Dec 03, 2020 21:00 | Siegfried Mortkowitz

offsite link UK’s 77th Psy-Ops Brigade Mobilized Ag... Thu Dec 03, 2020 20:10 | Gabriel Pogrund

offsite link Mask Non-Compliance Is a Moral Duty Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:01 | James Delingpole

offsite link Belgian ‘Health’ Ministry Says Shut ... Thu Dec 03, 2020 08:33 | The Times

offsite link Only Four Hospitals in the Whole of Engl... Thu Dec 03, 2020 05:07 | Connor Boyd

Anti-Empire >>

The Saker
A bird's eye view of the vineyard

offsite link MH17 and the Southern Cauldron Thu Dec 03, 2020 22:23 | amarynth
Sam Bullard for the Saker Blog Executive Summary There are MH17 dots that should be connected but aren’t, possibly because the right questions haven’t been asked. This article examines existing

offsite link No Escape From Our Techno-Feudal World Thu Dec 03, 2020 17:30 | amarynth
By Pepe Escobar with permission and first posted at Asia Times The political economy of the Digital Age remains virtually terra incognita. In Techno-Feudalism , published three months ago in

offsite link Trump Administration Fights Iran In Middle East As Qods Force Expands In U.S. Backyard Thu Dec 03, 2020 17:02 | amarynth
South Front The United States and Israel are preparing for even more military action against Iran following the assassination of prominent nuclear scientist, Mohsen Fakhrizadeh, in the countryside of Tehran

offsite link Donald Trump: ?This may be the most important speech I?ve ever made?.? Wed Dec 02, 2020 22:23 | The Saker

offsite link Chicken Kiev Meets Cold Turkey: Black Sea Axis Emerges? Wed Dec 02, 2020 18:27 | amarynth
South Front Written and produced by SF Team: J.Hawk, Daniel Deiss, Edwin Watson On the face of it, an alliance between Turkey and Ukraine seems like a rather odd creation,

The Saker >>

Public Inquiry
Interested in maladministration. Estd. 2005

offsite link David Quinn’s selective tolerance

offsite link A Woulfe in judges clothing Anthony

offsite link Sarah McInerney and political impartiality Anthony

offsite link Did RTE journalists collude against Sinn Fein? Anthony

offsite link Irish Examiner bias Anthony

Public Inquiry >>

Biography of Bobby Sands Launched in Galway

category galway | arts and media | press release author Friday November 24, 2006 22:32author by Conor - Ogra Shinn Feinauthor email osf_connacht at hotmail dot com Report this post to the editors

Academic, author and activist Denis O’ Hearn spoke in Galway last night (Thursday) at the launch of his most recent book, ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’
picture_osf_142.jpg

His biography of IRA Volunteer and hunger striker Bobby Sands tells the story of this young man from his childhood days until his death at the age of twenty-seven in the H-Blocks of Long Kesh. A thoughtful and well researched work, ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ at once examines Bobby Sands’ status as an icon and depicts him as the young man he was to his family, friends and comrades. Denis O’ Hearn read from his book and told the audience
“it is important to reflect on the sacrifices that were made by these young man and perhaps revisit our own perceptions of the events of 1981. We cannot forget that those who died on that Hunger Strike over the summer of ’81 were all young men, in their twenties and early thirties, some with families and relationships. We must re-examine their iconic status and also see the humanity that informed their actions. I have written this book so as people can learn of Bobby Sands as not just an icon, but a person too.
The launch was organized in conjunction with Sinn Féin Gaillimh Thiar, and hosted by the NUIG cumann. Speaking at the launch, Colm Ó Ceannabháin, general election candidate for Galway West, thanked the Sinn Féin cumann in NUIG and Denis O’ Hearn for traveling to the West to launch his book, and told the audience that it was fitting that ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ “is launched in Galway at this time. This year has seen many events to commemorate the 1981 Hunger Strike, and as this twenty-fifth anniversary year draws to a close I would like to thank all who were involved.
‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ is available in most book shops and online at sinnfeinbookshop.com and is priced at around €20.

Related Link: http://www.osf.pro.ie

picture_osf_149.jpg

author by Who?publication date Sat Nov 25, 2006 18:39author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Bobby Sands, a great Republican in the tradition of Tone Pearse and Connelly, betrayed by weak easily bought Republicans, who like those before them have sold out at the merest hint of self gain.

author by Celia Spublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 00:02author address author phone Report this post to the editors

I wonder if Ogra NUIG will get around to asking Bobby's sister Marcella to come and talk at the University? I'm sure she would be only too happy to oblige, and that she'd also be willing to tell those young republicans why the Sands family did not co-operate with the writing of Hearn's book (as he has claimed).

Celia S.

author by glangevlinpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 00:36author address author phone Report this post to the editors

i was in ballyconnell ,Co Cavan at the 25 year hungerstrike commemeration in the slieve russell,denis ohearn was there as well as the relatives of most of the hunger strikers and this book, his book was welcomed by the sands family that night.

author by Saerpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 07:35author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Would the so-called "Ógra Shinn Féin" have us believe that Bobby Sands died for organisations that proclaim themselves Republican while promoting the idea that Republicans join the British Police Force?

It seems to me that they're fooling noone but themselves.

Ógra Shinn Féin honouring Sands is much like George Bush honouring Fidel Castro.

Beware the wolf in sheep's clothing.

author by Fake republicanpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 16:42author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Real republicans.

Real republicans know.
They know what is right
They know they are right
They know others are wrong
They arnt afraid
They take no chances
They simply shout from the sideline
They shout abuse at those who struggle
They forward the real republican cause by demeaning those who work for it
They do not understand the term'constructive criticism'
They understand that to be consructive they might actually have to do something
that could get in the way of shouting down young people who want to do something
They dont understand we're on the same team, these real republicans
they bicker and argue and open pointless debates.
these real republicans are like fustrated athiest theologians, knit-picking and finding fault.
Constantly
I am glad I am a fake republican, it is tiring sometimes, but being a real republican must be exhausting, countless hours scrolling throught this site and other sites, mulling over great republican theological debates constanly, lying in bed unable to sleep thinking of ways to insult and demean republicans who seek to work for what they believe in, for their vision for their country, which strangely enough is the same as the vison for their country that the real republicans have.
I am glad I am a fake republican.

author by Who?publication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 22:59author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Sure isn't the whole Sinn Fein leadership a bunch of fake Republicans?

We'll make the decisions.

You'll do what you're told!

We'll commit to one thing, then change our mind to curry favour with the DUP.

You'll back us without question!

We'll brand others who want open debate as assassins.

You'll spread the lies.

Because lying is what we do best, especially to a gullible grass roots, who'll simply do as they're bid and believe those lies and make others believe those lies.

A 32 Socialist Republic is nothing more than a Great big Lie!

author by TCpublication date Tue Nov 28, 2006 16:31author address author phone Report this post to the editors

"Our revenge will be the laughter of our Children."

Bobby Sands sure said that NOT our revenge will be our children joining the British imperialist police in occupied Ireland!

There are more British troops in the north than in Iraq, and everyone here agrees that the war in Iraq is an occupation. Does SF and OSF also support the Iraqi people to join the occupying forces in Iraq in the name of ending "political policing" and in the name of moving forward for a united Iraq?

Funny how it wasnt that long ago SF used to say "RUC-SS Bully Boys" "Brits Out" and now only say "NO to Political Policing".

author by Who?publication date Tue Nov 28, 2006 19:56author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Sinn Fein used to say a lot of things, TC, but the DUP put an end to that. Now the Shinners are more worried about what the IMC has to say about them.

Number of comments per page
  
 
© 2001-2020 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy