Upcoming Events

Galway | Arts and Media

no events match your query!

New Events

Galway

no events posted in last week

Blog Feeds

Anti-Empire

Anti-Empire

offsite link Hilarious: Pentagon Told Congressmen Tha... Fri Apr 23, 2021 10:36 | Betsy Woodruff Swan

offsite link Hilarious: Czechia Issues an Ultimatum t... Fri Apr 23, 2021 09:36 | Jan Flemr

offsite link CDC: 6,000 People Infected With COVID Ev... Fri Apr 23, 2021 08:36 | Eric Lendrum

offsite link The COVID Cult Forces the British Queen ... Thu Apr 22, 2021 21:35 | Allison Pearson

offsite link The US Sails ‘FONOPs’ Against Canada... Thu Apr 22, 2021 20:45 | Yves Engler

Anti-Empire >>

The Saker
A bird's eye view of the vineyard

offsite link Exit Terra: Did You Know We Have Been Contacted By Aliens? Thu Apr 22, 2021 18:41 | amarynth
Global media mobilize for unparalleled Outer Space news By Thorsten J. Pattberg for the Saker Blog The latest information hype are Aliens. I see more and more articles. The print papers holler on triumphantly:

offsite link What was Putin referring to? (OPEN TREAD #16) Thu Apr 22, 2021 17:44 | The Saker
This is an excerpt of the (relatively short) part of Putin’s speech dealing with foreign issues: “We really want to maintain good relations with all those engaged in international communication,

offsite link The Spirit of the Times Thu Apr 22, 2021 17:22 | amarynth
By Jimmie Moglia for the Saker Blog To understand Hegel the reader must be in perfect health, though sometimes the minds of geniuses deliver compact nuggets of wisdom, understandable and

offsite link Resistance Axis on war alert, to ?openly? target Israel if Iran attacks continue: Hezbollah insider Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:44 | amarynth
Original link: http://middleeastobse... Description:  Senior Lebanese political analyst and editor-in-chief of the Al-Binaa newspaper, Nasser Qandil, says the entire Axis of Resistance is now on war alert and prepared to respond

offsite link Ukraine: Fascism?s toe-hold in Europe Wed Apr 21, 2021 16:51 | amarynth
The tacit support given by the centre-left to the installation of the regime in Kiev should give them cause for concern By Francis Lee for the Saker Blog Politics in

The Saker >>

Lockdown Skeptics

Lockdown Sceptics

Stay Sceptical. Control the Hysteria. Save Lives.

offsite link Mass Covid Testing a ?Waste of Time and Money?, MPs Told Tue Apr 20, 2021 20:13 | Michael Curzon
Biostatistics Professor Jon Deeks has criticised the Government's mass Covid testing plan as a waste of "time and money", highlighting that in some areas only one positive case would be found after 10,000 tests.
The post Mass Covid Testing a “Waste of Time and Money”, MPs Told appeared first on Lockdown Sceptics.

offsite link Civil Service Job Advert Confirms Covid Passports Are In Development Tue Apr 20, 2021 18:12 | Michael Curzon
Michael Gove is visiting Israel to study possibilities for a Covid passport scheme in Britain. But new civil service job adverts suggest that the development of both digital and non-digital passes is already underway.
The post Civil Service Job Advert Confirms Covid Passports Are In Development appeared first on Lockdown Sceptics.

offsite link Warning About Blood Clots Should be Added to Labels for Johnson & Johnson?s Covid Vaccine, Says E.U.... Tue Apr 20, 2021 17:17 | Michael Curzon
There is a "possible link" between the Johnson & Johnson Covid vaccine and blood clots, according to the European Medicines Agency. The regulator says that a warning should be added to labels for the vaccine.
The post Warning About Blood Clots Should be Added to Labels for Johnson & Johnson’s Covid Vaccine, Says E.U.’s Medicines Regulator appeared first on Lockdown Sceptics.

offsite link Ministers Created Confusion by Not Differentiating Between Lockdown Guidance and Law, Police Watchdo... Tue Apr 20, 2021 11:49 | Michael Curzon
Police have not been given enough notice about changes in the law and guidance relating to Covid, about which ministers added further confusion by not differentiating between the two, says Britain's police watchdog.
The post Ministers Created Confusion by Not Differentiating Between Lockdown Guidance and Law, Police Watchdog Says appeared first on Lockdown Sceptics.

offsite link More Than 810,000 UK Workers Have Lost Jobs Since March 2020 Tue Apr 20, 2021 09:13 | Michael Curzon
56,000 Brits lost their jobs last month, taking the total number of losses to 813,000 over the past year of lockdowns, according to data from the Office for National Statistics.
The post More Than 810,000 UK Workers Have Lost Jobs Since March 2020 appeared first on Lockdown Sceptics.

Lockdown Skeptics >>

Voltaire Network

Biography of Bobby Sands Launched in Galway

category galway | arts and media | press release author Friday November 24, 2006 22:32author by Conor - Ogra Shinn Feinauthor email osf_connacht at hotmail dot com Report this post to the editors

Academic, author and activist Denis O’ Hearn spoke in Galway last night (Thursday) at the launch of his most recent book, ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’
picture_osf_142.jpg

His biography of IRA Volunteer and hunger striker Bobby Sands tells the story of this young man from his childhood days until his death at the age of twenty-seven in the H-Blocks of Long Kesh. A thoughtful and well researched work, ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ at once examines Bobby Sands’ status as an icon and depicts him as the young man he was to his family, friends and comrades. Denis O’ Hearn read from his book and told the audience
“it is important to reflect on the sacrifices that were made by these young man and perhaps revisit our own perceptions of the events of 1981. We cannot forget that those who died on that Hunger Strike over the summer of ’81 were all young men, in their twenties and early thirties, some with families and relationships. We must re-examine their iconic status and also see the humanity that informed their actions. I have written this book so as people can learn of Bobby Sands as not just an icon, but a person too.
The launch was organized in conjunction with Sinn Féin Gaillimh Thiar, and hosted by the NUIG cumann. Speaking at the launch, Colm Ó Ceannabháin, general election candidate for Galway West, thanked the Sinn Féin cumann in NUIG and Denis O’ Hearn for traveling to the West to launch his book, and told the audience that it was fitting that ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ “is launched in Galway at this time. This year has seen many events to commemorate the 1981 Hunger Strike, and as this twenty-fifth anniversary year draws to a close I would like to thank all who were involved.
‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ is available in most book shops and online at sinnfeinbookshop.com and is priced at around €20.

Related Link: http://www.osf.pro.ie

picture_osf_149.jpg

author by Who?publication date Sat Nov 25, 2006 18:39author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Bobby Sands, a great Republican in the tradition of Tone Pearse and Connelly, betrayed by weak easily bought Republicans, who like those before them have sold out at the merest hint of self gain.

author by Celia Spublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 00:02author address author phone Report this post to the editors

I wonder if Ogra NUIG will get around to asking Bobby's sister Marcella to come and talk at the University? I'm sure she would be only too happy to oblige, and that she'd also be willing to tell those young republicans why the Sands family did not co-operate with the writing of Hearn's book (as he has claimed).

Celia S.

author by glangevlinpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 00:36author address author phone Report this post to the editors

i was in ballyconnell ,Co Cavan at the 25 year hungerstrike commemeration in the slieve russell,denis ohearn was there as well as the relatives of most of the hunger strikers and this book, his book was welcomed by the sands family that night.

author by Saerpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 07:35author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Would the so-called "Ógra Shinn Féin" have us believe that Bobby Sands died for organisations that proclaim themselves Republican while promoting the idea that Republicans join the British Police Force?

It seems to me that they're fooling noone but themselves.

Ógra Shinn Féin honouring Sands is much like George Bush honouring Fidel Castro.

Beware the wolf in sheep's clothing.

author by Fake republicanpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 16:42author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Real republicans.

Real republicans know.
They know what is right
They know they are right
They know others are wrong
They arnt afraid
They take no chances
They simply shout from the sideline
They shout abuse at those who struggle
They forward the real republican cause by demeaning those who work for it
They do not understand the term'constructive criticism'
They understand that to be consructive they might actually have to do something
that could get in the way of shouting down young people who want to do something
They dont understand we're on the same team, these real republicans
they bicker and argue and open pointless debates.
these real republicans are like fustrated athiest theologians, knit-picking and finding fault.
Constantly
I am glad I am a fake republican, it is tiring sometimes, but being a real republican must be exhausting, countless hours scrolling throught this site and other sites, mulling over great republican theological debates constanly, lying in bed unable to sleep thinking of ways to insult and demean republicans who seek to work for what they believe in, for their vision for their country, which strangely enough is the same as the vison for their country that the real republicans have.
I am glad I am a fake republican.

author by Who?publication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 22:59author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Sure isn't the whole Sinn Fein leadership a bunch of fake Republicans?

We'll make the decisions.

You'll do what you're told!

We'll commit to one thing, then change our mind to curry favour with the DUP.

You'll back us without question!

We'll brand others who want open debate as assassins.

You'll spread the lies.

Because lying is what we do best, especially to a gullible grass roots, who'll simply do as they're bid and believe those lies and make others believe those lies.

A 32 Socialist Republic is nothing more than a Great big Lie!

author by TCpublication date Tue Nov 28, 2006 16:31author address author phone Report this post to the editors

"Our revenge will be the laughter of our Children."

Bobby Sands sure said that NOT our revenge will be our children joining the British imperialist police in occupied Ireland!

There are more British troops in the north than in Iraq, and everyone here agrees that the war in Iraq is an occupation. Does SF and OSF also support the Iraqi people to join the occupying forces in Iraq in the name of ending "political policing" and in the name of moving forward for a united Iraq?

Funny how it wasnt that long ago SF used to say "RUC-SS Bully Boys" "Brits Out" and now only say "NO to Political Policing".

author by Who?publication date Tue Nov 28, 2006 19:56author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Sinn Fein used to say a lot of things, TC, but the DUP put an end to that. Now the Shinners are more worried about what the IMC has to say about them.

Number of comments per page
  
 
© 2001-2021 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy