Upcoming Events

Galway | Arts and Media

no events match your query!

Blog Feeds

Irish Left Review
Joined up thinking for the Irish Left

offsite link New Books Worth Reading Mon Sep 19, 2016 23:25 | Seán Sheehan

offsite link 13 Billion ? Lucky for some? Mon Sep 05, 2016 13:04 | Tony Phillips

offsite link Rebuilding Ireland: Long on Promise, Short on Detail Mon Aug 29, 2016 22:20 | Eoin O'Mahony

offsite link Brexit and Other Issues: Comments on the Current Situation Mon Aug 29, 2016 21:52 | Brendan Young

offsite link Bin Charges: From Private Circus to Public Service Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:38 | Michael Taft

Irish Left Review >>

Spirit of Contradiction

offsite link On The Decline and Fall of The American Empire and Socialism Sat Jan 26, 2019 01:52 | S. Duncan

offsite link What is Dogmatism and Why Does It Matter? Wed Mar 21, 2018 08:10 | Sylvia Smith

offsite link The Case of Comrade Dallas Mon Mar 19, 2018 19:44 | Sylvia Smith

offsite link Review: Do Religions Evolve? Mon Aug 14, 2017 19:54 | Dara McHugh

offsite link Fake News: The Epistemology of Media Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:52 | Gavin Mendel-Gleason

Spirit of Contradiction >>

Public Inquiry
Interested in maladministration. Estd. 2005

offsite link Alison O’Connor and professional deceit

offsite link Educating Marian Finucane Anthony

offsite link Denis O’Brien: Are the sharks closing in? Anthony

offsite link Kathy Sheridan: Afraid to speak truth to power? Anthony

offsite link Una Mullally: The youth of Ireland are on the march Anthony

Public Inquiry >>

NAMA Wine Lake

offsite link Test ? 12 November 2018 Mon Nov 12, 2018 14:28 | namawinelake

offsite link Farewell from NWL Sun May 19, 2013 14:00 | namawinelake

offsite link Happy 70th Birthday, Michael Sun May 19, 2013 14:00 | namawinelake

offsite link Of the Week? Sat May 18, 2013 00:02 | namawinelake

offsite link Noonan denies IBRC legal fees loan approval to Paddy McKillen was in breach of E... Fri May 17, 2013 14:23 | namawinelake

NAMA Wine Lake >>

Biography of Bobby Sands Launched in Galway

category galway | arts and media | press release author Friday November 24, 2006 22:32author by Conor - Ogra Shinn Feinauthor email osf_connacht at hotmail dot com Report this post to the editors

Academic, author and activist Denis O’ Hearn spoke in Galway last night (Thursday) at the launch of his most recent book, ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’
picture_osf_142.jpg

His biography of IRA Volunteer and hunger striker Bobby Sands tells the story of this young man from his childhood days until his death at the age of twenty-seven in the H-Blocks of Long Kesh. A thoughtful and well researched work, ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ at once examines Bobby Sands’ status as an icon and depicts him as the young man he was to his family, friends and comrades. Denis O’ Hearn read from his book and told the audience
“it is important to reflect on the sacrifices that were made by these young man and perhaps revisit our own perceptions of the events of 1981. We cannot forget that those who died on that Hunger Strike over the summer of ’81 were all young men, in their twenties and early thirties, some with families and relationships. We must re-examine their iconic status and also see the humanity that informed their actions. I have written this book so as people can learn of Bobby Sands as not just an icon, but a person too.
The launch was organized in conjunction with Sinn Féin Gaillimh Thiar, and hosted by the NUIG cumann. Speaking at the launch, Colm Ó Ceannabháin, general election candidate for Galway West, thanked the Sinn Féin cumann in NUIG and Denis O’ Hearn for traveling to the West to launch his book, and told the audience that it was fitting that ‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ “is launched in Galway at this time. This year has seen many events to commemorate the 1981 Hunger Strike, and as this twenty-fifth anniversary year draws to a close I would like to thank all who were involved.
‘Nothing But an Unfinished Song’ is available in most book shops and online at sinnfeinbookshop.com and is priced at around €20.

Related Link: http://www.osf.pro.ie

picture_osf_149.jpg

author by Who?publication date Sat Nov 25, 2006 18:39author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Bobby Sands, a great Republican in the tradition of Tone Pearse and Connelly, betrayed by weak easily bought Republicans, who like those before them have sold out at the merest hint of self gain.

author by Celia Spublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 00:02author address author phone Report this post to the editors

I wonder if Ogra NUIG will get around to asking Bobby's sister Marcella to come and talk at the University? I'm sure she would be only too happy to oblige, and that she'd also be willing to tell those young republicans why the Sands family did not co-operate with the writing of Hearn's book (as he has claimed).

Celia S.

author by glangevlinpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 00:36author address author phone Report this post to the editors

i was in ballyconnell ,Co Cavan at the 25 year hungerstrike commemeration in the slieve russell,denis ohearn was there as well as the relatives of most of the hunger strikers and this book, his book was welcomed by the sands family that night.

author by Saerpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 07:35author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Would the so-called "Ógra Shinn Féin" have us believe that Bobby Sands died for organisations that proclaim themselves Republican while promoting the idea that Republicans join the British Police Force?

It seems to me that they're fooling noone but themselves.

Ógra Shinn Féin honouring Sands is much like George Bush honouring Fidel Castro.

Beware the wolf in sheep's clothing.

author by Fake republicanpublication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 16:42author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Real republicans.

Real republicans know.
They know what is right
They know they are right
They know others are wrong
They arnt afraid
They take no chances
They simply shout from the sideline
They shout abuse at those who struggle
They forward the real republican cause by demeaning those who work for it
They do not understand the term'constructive criticism'
They understand that to be consructive they might actually have to do something
that could get in the way of shouting down young people who want to do something
They dont understand we're on the same team, these real republicans
they bicker and argue and open pointless debates.
these real republicans are like fustrated athiest theologians, knit-picking and finding fault.
Constantly
I am glad I am a fake republican, it is tiring sometimes, but being a real republican must be exhausting, countless hours scrolling throught this site and other sites, mulling over great republican theological debates constanly, lying in bed unable to sleep thinking of ways to insult and demean republicans who seek to work for what they believe in, for their vision for their country, which strangely enough is the same as the vison for their country that the real republicans have.
I am glad I am a fake republican.

author by Who?publication date Mon Nov 27, 2006 22:59author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Sure isn't the whole Sinn Fein leadership a bunch of fake Republicans?

We'll make the decisions.

You'll do what you're told!

We'll commit to one thing, then change our mind to curry favour with the DUP.

You'll back us without question!

We'll brand others who want open debate as assassins.

You'll spread the lies.

Because lying is what we do best, especially to a gullible grass roots, who'll simply do as they're bid and believe those lies and make others believe those lies.

A 32 Socialist Republic is nothing more than a Great big Lie!

author by TCpublication date Tue Nov 28, 2006 16:31author address author phone Report this post to the editors

"Our revenge will be the laughter of our Children."

Bobby Sands sure said that NOT our revenge will be our children joining the British imperialist police in occupied Ireland!

There are more British troops in the north than in Iraq, and everyone here agrees that the war in Iraq is an occupation. Does SF and OSF also support the Iraqi people to join the occupying forces in Iraq in the name of ending "political policing" and in the name of moving forward for a united Iraq?

Funny how it wasnt that long ago SF used to say "RUC-SS Bully Boys" "Brits Out" and now only say "NO to Political Policing".

author by Who?publication date Tue Nov 28, 2006 19:56author address author phone Report this post to the editors

Sinn Fein used to say a lot of things, TC, but the DUP put an end to that. Now the Shinners are more worried about what the IMC has to say about them.

Number of comments per page
  
 
© 2001-2019 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy