Blog Feeds

The Saker
A bird's eye view of the vineyard

offsite link Trump Plans to Keep U.S. Troops Permanently in Iraq Tue Feb 18, 2020 00:29 | The Saker
by Eric Zuesse for The Saker Blog A reliable and exceptionally knowledgeable source, who doesn?t wish to be publicly identified, has confidentially informed me that an agreement has been reached

offsite link Moveable Feast Cafe 2020/02/17 ? Open Thread Mon Feb 17, 2020 10:00 | Herb Swanson
2020/02/17 10:00:02Welcome to the ‘Moveable Feast Cafe’. The ‘Moveable Feast’ is an open thread where readers can post wide ranging observations, articles, rants, off topic and have animate discussions of

offsite link Erdogan?s Long-Coming Reality Check: Fri Feb 14, 2020 22:04 | The Saker
by Ghassan Kadi for The Saker Blog It is hard to say if Erdogan is running out of choices, friends, time, or all of the above; and his stands on

offsite link Adventures Of Idlib Hipsters. American Waterloo In Khirbat Amu Fri Feb 14, 2020 18:49 | Scott
https://southfront.org/adve... In Turkey, it is by now a good tradition to threaten Syria with a war every time when luckless Idlib rebels suffer another military defeat from the Syrian Army.

offsite link IRGC Aerospace Forces Commander?s debriefing about Iran?s strike against Al-Assad US Airbase Thu Feb 13, 2020 23:50 | The Saker
Press conference by the Commander of the Aerospace Forces of the Islamic Revolution Guards Corps (IRGC), Ali Hajizadeh, on January 10, devoted to the Iranian strikes against al-Assad US Airbase.

The Saker >>

Human Rights in Ireland
A Blog About Human Rights

offsite link Latest Listings Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:07 | Human Rights

offsite link Latest Updates Thu Nov 21, 2019 20:32 | Human Rights

offsite link US Holds China To Account For Human Rights Violations Sun Oct 13, 2019 19:12 | Human Rights

offsite link UN Human Rights Council Should Address Human Rights Crisis in Cambodia Sat Aug 31, 2019 13:41 | Human Rights

offsite link Fijian women still face Human Rights violations Mon Aug 26, 2019 18:49 | Human Rights

Human Rights in Ireland >>

Cedar Lounge
"A flaky website that purports to be ?leftist,? The Cedar Lounge Revolution, occasionally makes a relevant point or two."

offsite link Equals? 10:58 Tue Feb 18, 2020 | WorldbyStorm

offsite link Unserious 07:55 Tue Feb 18, 2020 | WorldbyStorm

offsite link FG/FF and? 07:31 Tue Feb 18, 2020 | WorldbyStorm

offsite link ?The Strange Death of Jeremy Corbyn? 19:06 Mon Feb 17, 2020 | irishelectionliterature

offsite link Long past time? 18:01 Mon Feb 17, 2020 | WorldbyStorm

Cedar Lounge >>

Dublin Opinion
Life should be full of strangeness, like a rich painting

offsite link Some Thoughts on the Brexit Joint Report 11:50 Sat Dec 09, 2017

offsite link IRISH COMMONWEALTH: TRADE UNIONS AND CIVIL SOCIETY IN THE 21ST CENTURY 14:06 Sat Nov 18, 2017

offsite link Notes for a Book on Money and the Irish State - The Marshall Aid Program 15:10 Sat Apr 02, 2016

offsite link The Financial Crisis:What Have We Learnt? 19:58 Sat Aug 29, 2015

offsite link Money in 35,000 Words or Less 21:34 Sat Aug 22, 2015

Dublin Opinion >>

draftgen.jpg
international / eu / opinion/analysis Wednesday April 24, 2019 11:52 by Derrick Harris   image 3 images
UN to consider the Armenian Genocide read full story / add a comment
cavan / miscellaneous / opinion/analysis Tuesday March 19, 2019 01:31 by Wade Tarzia
Folklore observations concerning the Carrickaboy area read full story / add a comment
national / crime and justice / opinion/analysis Sunday March 03, 2019 12:38 by Joe Terry
“There are at least 40,000 problem gamblers in Ireland”

read full story / add a comment
national / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Wednesday February 27, 2019 23:55 by sw   text 1 comment (last - friday april 05, 2019 13:54)
The context to this letter by Edward Hogan is to highlight the complicity of the Irish government in assisting the US who are directly involved in the murder and terrorizing of the Yemeni population through the provision of bombs, missiles, drones, training. The media have managed to more or less turn a blind eye to this year since it started in 2015. read full story / add a comment
dublin / housing / opinion/analysis Tuesday February 26, 2019 12:53 by séamas carraher
“…the best way to solve homelessness in Dublin would be to provide no beds.” Owen Keegan, Dublin City Council’s Chief Executive read full story / add a comment
national / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Thursday February 21, 2019 21:57 by Joe Terry

“The country will be back to normal in 2053” reveals the thoughts of Jack Kennedy in a future Ireland scenario. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Tuesday February 12, 2019 22:10 by Gemma rays   text 1 comment (last - wednesday february 13, 2019 04:30)
Investigative Journalist and ex presidential candidate Gemma O'Doherty has become the subject of a campaign of google censorship like many others recently who dissent from the status quo. Gemma, however did not take this lying down. She took it straight to google HQ

Support Gemma in her fight against google censorship.
And support independent non corporate media platforms where this control cannot so easily be exercised over free speech! read full story / add a comment
international / worker & community struggles and protests / opinion/analysis Tuesday January 22, 2019 16:12 by Sean Crudden
Well I must say that although I have not seen much of the debate about Brexit I am impressed by Mrs. Teresa May. She has maintained a rational and forthright attitude. Many a good leader has been ditched long before the end of the road. But I hope she is able to lead this Brexit process to a satisfactory conclusion.

To be simplistic about it I do not think it is a case of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland wrong; The European Union right. It's a big decision for EU as well as for UKGBNI. Candidly I think EU needs to review and adjust. There are many facets of the EU and The European Commission that are open to negative criticism. I need not retail them here. Most people can make out their own shopping list. read full story / add a comment
international / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Saturday January 19, 2019 11:57 by séamas carraher   text 1 comment (last - monday january 21, 2019 16:38)
It seems that the fate of the Kurds and their allies and neighbours in this tormented part of the world depends on the quickly changing allegiances between a number of international players – none of which you would trust to walk your grandmother across a busy road read full story / add a comment
international / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Saturday January 12, 2019 12:00 by séamas carraher
Is there not something absurd (if not for the cost in human suffering) in Turkey’s ruling coalition’s deep seated venom for the social and cultural presence of its not-Turkish people? read full story / add a comment
The Times's front page report
international / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Sunday December 30, 2018 17:21 by Blooming Barricade   image 1 image
The Times did a valuable service by investigating the murder of a Palestinian medic by Israeli snipers, but undermined their own work with pro-apartheid framing and both-sides tropes. read full story / add a comment
national / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Wednesday December 26, 2018 19:34 by Lilesosanna   text 1 comment (last - saturday december 29, 2018 00:39)
This blog, my first, will in general aim to document the program and specifically my experiences on JobPath. Protecting their identities you will meet the other job seekers and staff, will there be villains and hero’s or stale biscuits and tea? The blog will be anonymous because I’m not sure how DSP or Seetec will feel about the real time, real person, review.

Why do a blog, I feel that it gives a window for the 115,000 people who will be invited to the mandatory scheme over the full 4+2 years. JobPath is discussed by politicians, by journalist and even on public forums, the vast majority of whom only get the opportunity to view from the outside in and so only see things from a superficial vantage point. My time embedded or if you like immersed in the scheme, gives a personal and unique opportunity to document my experience and is allowing me the privilege of blogging from the inside out. It requires some intrusion into my life and maybe some repetitive reading, it will require some commitment from myself and the thought of possible consequences leave me a little unhinged. However difficult it is personally, hopefully it will serve the purpose of shedding light on the truth in a way that turning up with a press pass or in a Ministerial car, never could do.

In November 2018, I received a second ‘invitation’ that I couldn’t refuse to do another 52 weeks of JobPath. Considering the amount of people who viewed the blog from all corners of the planet and the participants that the blog helped, along with the number of people who contact me for and offering me help, I’m going to do another 52 weeks of blogging under JobPath two. The aims will be the same. read full story / add a comment
international / eu / opinion/analysis Monday December 10, 2018 07:49 by alexdudek
UN will oblige Germany to pay reparations for occupation of Poland. read full story / add a comment
precarity1620x330.jpg
international / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Friday December 07, 2018 04:06 by sp   image 1 image
From fast food workers getting organised to fight for a living wage, to Uber drivers fighting a company infamous for its use of bogus self-employment models, to McDonalds’ workers in the US saying ‘No More’ to sexual harassment, a section of workers traditionally seen as “hard to organise” are proving their willingness to fight. Katia Hancke looks at what this trend represents. read full story / add a comment
1968praguespring620x330.jpg
international / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Monday December 03, 2018 22:57 by sp   text 1 comment (last - monday january 14, 2019 23:00)   image 1 image
This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Prague Spring when the rule of Stalinism in Czechoslovakia and in the entire “Eastern Bloc” was threatened. Solidarity TD and Socialist Party member Mick Barry looks at the lessons of these explosive events. read full story / add a comment
national / elections / politics / opinion/analysis Monday December 03, 2018 20:44 by Joseph James
This article argues for the inclusion of a "None of the above" option on all ballot papers in an election. It starts by explaining the benefits of its inclusion. Then it demonstrates how its inclusion can be achieved through activism. read full story / add a comment
national / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Sunday November 25, 2018 16:43 by Blooming Barricade   video 1 video file
The Integrity Initiative is now trying to smear and attack Seumas Milne, Jeremy Corbyn's communications director and a key voice on the anti-war, anti-capitalist left, tweeting a Times article that appears to have been contributed to by them. read full story / add a comment
international / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Sunday November 25, 2018 16:35 by Winter Oak (repost)
In this issue:
Rebelling against the industrial capitalist system
“At the heart of this problem lies our sense of separation from nature”
Abolishing dissent
Does work set us free?
Save Whitehawk Hill!
Acorninfo read full story / add a comment
international / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Friday November 16, 2018 11:20 by séamas carraher
Orsola Casagrande, long-time journalist with the left-wing Italian Il manifesto, now freelance and currently living in Havana, Cuba, recently visited Rojava in Northern Syria read full story / add a comment
national / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Saturday November 10, 2018 12:13 by séamas carraher
So far, due to a variety of ignoble reasons, not least public healthcare being farmed out to private laboratories, at least 221 Irish women have now been identified whose smear tests had been read incorrectly with tragic consequences read full story / add a comment
This page can be viewed in
English Gaeilge
UK Indymedia Features

Tue May 02, 2017 01:55 UK Indymedia Features

offsite link UK Indymedia : 1999 - 2016 Fri Apr 28, 2017 19:19 | IMC UK | en

offsite link Build gardens not prisons Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:53 | anon | en

offsite link Maximus: Same Circus, Different Clowns Thu Mar 05, 2015 21:42 | solidarity collective | en

offsite link Police serve Bytemark with production order for Bristol Indymedia information Mon Sep 01, 2014 19:58 | UK Indymedia | en

offsite link Police action against Bristol Indymedia Thu Aug 28, 2014 17:27 | UK Indymedia | en

UK Indymedia Features >>

IMC network

© 2001-2020 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy