Independent Media Centre Ireland

Orhan Pamuk Wins the Nobel Prize For Literature.

category international | arts and media | other press author Friday October 13, 2006 17:45author by C Murray

2006 Award to the Turkish Writer.

The Novelist and writer Orhan Pamuk was awarded the Nobel Prize
for Literature for 2006.

His books include: 'Snow', 'The Black Book', 'The New Life'
and 'Istanbul' which is a history of his native city.

The first lines of Snow:

"The silence of snow, thought the man sitting just behind the bus-driver. If this were the
beginning of a new poem, he would have called what he felt inside him 'The silence of the snow'.

It's a good book.

Other luminaries in literature include:

Tony Morrisson (1993)
Wislawa Szymborska(1996)
Elfrieda Jelinek (2004)

and Seamus Heaney .

Pamuk won the IMPAC Literary Award for 'My Name is Red' in 2003.

Indymedia Ireland is a media collective. We are independent volunteer citizen journalists producing and distributing the authentic voices of the people. Indymedia Ireland is an open news project where anyone can post their own news, comment, videos or photos about Ireland or related matters.