User Preferences

  • Language - en | ga
  • text size normal | >>
  • make this your indymedia front page make this your indymedia front page

Blog Feeds

forward

Dublin Opinion
Life should be full of strangeness, like a rich painting

offsite link THE WORLD COULD SORT OUT EBOLA FOR THE PRICE OF ONE BONO 23:07 Tue Nov 18, 2014

offsite link WELL THAT?S IRISH WATER FINALLY SORTED OUT 23:04 Tue Nov 18, 2014

offsite link 1916 in 2016 08:47 Mon Nov 17, 2014

offsite link IRELAND, POLAND AND FRACKING 07:56 Mon Nov 17, 2014

offsite link WHEN IT COMES TO THE BANKS, LEAVE PLOT AT THE DOOR 22:24 Fri Nov 14, 2014

Dublin Opinion >>

Irish Left Review
Joined up thinking for the Irish Left

offsite link We Won?t Back Down: Statement from Communities Against Water Charges Sun Nov 23, 2014 17:17 | Irish Left Review

offsite link Guaranteeing Recidivism Thu Nov 20, 2014 17:07 | Donagh Brennan

offsite link The Blue Moon Women Thu Nov 20, 2014 09:55 | Anne Irwin

offsite link The Road To Ireland & The Water Thief Wed Nov 19, 2014 22:29 | Owen Gallagher

offsite link The Crisis of Irish Democracy Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:15 | Bryan Wall

Irish Left Review >>

NAMA Wine Lake

offsite link Farewell from NWL Sun May 19, 2013 14:00 | namawinelake

offsite link Happy 70th Birthday, Michael Sun May 19, 2013 14:00 | namawinelake

offsite link Of the Week? Sat May 18, 2013 00:02 | namawinelake

offsite link Noonan denies IBRC legal fees loan approval to Paddy McKillen was in breach of E... Fri May 17, 2013 14:23 | namawinelake

offsite link Gayle Killilea Dunne asks to be added as notice party in Sean Dunne?s bankruptcy Fri May 17, 2013 12:30 | namawinelake

NAMA Wine Lake >>

Ben - 23:04 Tue Nov 18, 2014

irwater.jpg

Ben - 08:47 Mon Nov 17, 2014

10686782_10152828722254886_8618985421493729934_n.jpg

Ben - 07:56 Mon Nov 17, 2014
Hadn’t heard of this Irish fracking company before. San Leon Energy. Run by this chirpy chappy, Oisín Fanning, who has history with Anglo Irish Bank (Full article here -

2.JPG

Hadn’t heard of this Irish fracking company before. San Leon Energy. Run by this chirpy chappy, Oisín Fanning, who has history with Anglo Irish Bank (Full article here -

capture.JPG

Ben - 22:24 Fri Nov 14, 2014
Playing around with slides for a workshop i’m giving at the Betty Sinclair Winter School in Lustybeg next week, the topic of which is the importance of education in building a genuine progressive working class movement. The main argument I’m making here is that in the absence of the type of robust conceptual frameworks needed [...]

plot-banks-door.jpg

Playing around with slides for a workshop i’m giving at the Betty Sinclair Winter School in Lustybeg next week, the topic of which is the importance of education in building a genuine progressive working class movement. The main argument I’m making here is that in the absence of the type of robust conceptual frameworks needed to help us make sense of the world, we’re in danger of leaving our analysis in the tepid hands of “plot” - that is, good guys and bad guys and motivation powered by personal failings.

Theory/ideology/conceptual frameworks still allow us to tell what happened and why, but they give us greater scope to explore the type of structural class power relations at play which are glossed over by the demands of plot and tragedy.

In other words, the bank crisis seen through the lens of power and class is a different story to one seen through the lens of greed-driven motivation.

The difference is that the former brings clarity to the task of changing the world, while the latter brings shrugs and sighs.

This has been on my mind a lot these days. I’ve been telling stories about the banks crisis, about Ireland and Irish society, for a good number of years at this stage, as part of a deeper education and consciousness-raising activity, and our need to make sense of the world through narrative seems to fit uneasily with the structural dynamics of issues such as power and class.

Indeed, the tensions that exist between narration and theory-informed structural analysis - trying to avoid personifying the structural dynamics through plots framed by stories of personal failings - is something that takes up a lot of my mental energies.

We have to make sense of the world through stories. I firmly believe that is an innate human need. The trick is to tell the story of class and power as a story, when the architectures of each (class and power on one side and plot-framed narration on the other) are not the same.

The reason why it is important is in terms of class consciousness.

Genuine class consciousness, I believe, happens when people stop asking “what class am I?” and start asking “what class are we?”

And stories of class and power help us to do that. The hard part is to tell those stories without finding yourself wrapped in the strait-jacket of “plot”.

Anyway, you can see that what I’m still playing around with. Hopefully it’ll make more sense next Friday.

Ben - 18:46 Fri Nov 07, 2014
Irish Labour movement, 1889-1924 - Lecture Seven: Civil War and Retreat. from Conor McCabe

Ben - 09:37 Thu Nov 06, 2014
Global Finance Money and Power - Lecture Eight: Futures and Options from Conor McCabe

futures-options-engineering.JPG

Ben - 21:08 Tue Nov 04, 2014

enda kenny irish people irish water

Ben - 12:03 Wed Oct 29, 2014

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 1

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 2

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 3

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 4

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 5

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 6

EXISTENTIALIST STOCK BUSINESS PHOTO 7

Ben - 09:02 Fri Oct 24, 2014
Irish Labour Movement 1889-1924: Lecture Six - Syndicalism in Ireland from Conor McCabe

syndicalism-ireland.jpg

Dublin Opinion >>

© 2001-2014 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy