User Preferences

  • Language - en | ga
  • text size >>
  • make this your indymedia front page make this your indymedia front page

Blog Feeds

forward

Cedar Lounge
For lefties too stubborn to quit

offsite link And over at the SBP? 12:09 Tue Sep 02, 2014 | WorldbyStorm

offsite link Commemoration Wars ? and what of Unionism? 05:11 Tue Sep 02, 2014 | WorldbyStorm

offsite link Timeline of the Irish left 14:00 Mon Sep 01, 2014 | AonRud

offsite link Marriage equality ? 85% and complacency 12:15 Mon Sep 01, 2014 | Tomboktu

offsite link A sort of 1970?s quiz 4 12:09 Mon Sep 01, 2014 | WorldbyStorm

Cedar Lounge >>

Dublin Opinion
Life should be full of strangeness, like a rich painting

offsite link I SEE THE CLICHÉ CHICKENS ARE BACK AGAIN TED 10:02 Sat Aug 30, 2014

offsite link IRELAND?S TAX HAVEN INDUSTRY 22:01 Tue Aug 05, 2014

offsite link IPA Summer School - Social Justice, Poverty and Ireland - 28 July 2014 11:56 Mon Jul 28, 2014

offsite link Feminist Economics - Cuts are a Feminist Issue 08:21 Wed Jun 18, 2014

offsite link Feminist Economics - Care and Social Reproduction 16:11 Fri Jun 13, 2014

Dublin Opinion >>

Human Rights in Ireland
www.humanrights.ie

offsite link Win Lin v Governor of Cloverhill Prison. Mon Sep 01, 2014 15:40 | GuestPost

offsite link DCU School of Law and Government Inaugural Conference: ?Judges, Politics and the Irish Constitution.... Mon Sep 01, 2014 09:27 | Sinead Ring

offsite link Presumption of Guilt: Islamic State and UK Criminal Law Fri Aug 29, 2014 19:15 | Colin Murray

offsite link Time for Our Referendum Sat Aug 23, 2014 13:57 | Vicky Conway

offsite link Call for Submissions: Irish Community Development Law Journal Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:01 | admin

Human Rights in Ireland >>

Ben - 10:02 Sat Aug 30, 2014

NOW IS A GOOD TIME TO BUY

Ben - 22:01 Tue Aug 05, 2014
Ireland's Tax Haven Industry from Conor McCabe Slides from a workshop for Attac Ireland on Ireland’s tax haven industry.

Slides from a workshop for Attac Ireland on Ireland’s tax haven industry.

Ben - 11:56 Mon Jul 28, 2014
Social Justice And Ireland - IPA Summer School 28 July 2014 from Conor McCabe

Ben - 08:21 Wed Jun 18, 2014
Feminist Economics - Cuts are a Feminist Issue from Conor McCabe

Ben - 16:11 Fri Jun 13, 2014
Feminist Economics - Social Reproduction from Conor McCabe

Ben - 12:12 Fri Jun 06, 2014
Slides from the first class of three on feminist economics, hosted by the Belfast Feminist Network. Feminist Economics - An Introduction from Conor McCabe

Slides from the first class of three on feminist economics, hosted by the Belfast Feminist Network.

Ben - 12:24 Wed May 28, 2014
Well, the summer starts here. My chart for a new module on global finance. hopefully I’ll have it filled out by the end of August. I’d be looking to do a variation of this for activists as well. As always, I’ll post stuff here as I go along and sure see what happens. The module [...]

GLOBAL FINANCE, IRELAND, MONEY, POWER

Well, the summer starts here. My chart for a new module on global finance. hopefully I’ll have it filled out by the end of August. I’d be looking to do a variation of this for activists as well. As always, I’ll post stuff here as I go along and sure see what happens. The module is in five parts:

1. Capital
2. Architecture of Global Finance
3. The Hunt for Yield
4. Ireland and Global Finance
5. Alternatives

Half-thinking of using the module as the basis for a short textbook on the subject, aimed mainly at activists and a non-academic audience. Again, sure see what happens.

Ben - 16:20 Tue May 27, 2014
Slides for a short presentation at Comhlámh 12 Parliament Street, Dublin, 2, tonight at 7pm. Rana Plaza One Year On from Conor McCabe

Slides for a short presentation at Comhlámh 12 Parliament Street, Dublin, 2, tonight at 7pm.

Ben - 14:49 Wed Apr 30, 2014
Editorial, Finance [Dublin], May 1987 The coming of age of the financial services industry in Ireland lies not just in the development of a fully integrated financial system after 55 years of independence, but also in a change in the concept and attitude towards finance in Ireland. Rapidly disappearing is the historic distrust of the financier [...]

Editorial, Finance [Dublin], May 1987

The coming of age of the financial services industry in Ireland lies not just in the development of a fully integrated financial system after 55 years of independence, but also in a change in the concept and attitude towards finance in Ireland. Rapidly disappearing is the historic distrust of the financier as a modern-day gaimbin [gombeen] man (”interest man”). In its place is a new understanding of the financial services sector as a real contributor to the development of the economy, to the development of exports, increased output, and, yes, jobs.”

Ben - 07:26 Sat Apr 26, 2014
Lecture given at IPA, 26 April 2014. Financialization and Social Justice from Conor McCabe

Lecture given at IPA, 26 April 2014.

Dublin Opinion >>

© 2001-2014 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy